Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

OCI Notes

Winners of the Process Improvement Symposium 2017

winners of process improvement symposium

Seven Awards Winners Announced at Inaugural Process Improvement Symposium

On January 26th, 155 Boise State University staff and faculty representing 40 departments across campus attended the Process Improvement Symposium. The spirit of the event was celebratory with a key-note address from Dean of the College of Innovation and Design, Gordon Jones.

Seven awards were presented to both individuals and departments for their contributions in business process innovation. The winners for each category are as follows:

Shadow Hunter Award:

Margie Smith, Office of Information Technology

By reducing paper usage with electronic documentation, Margie slashed shadow systems to the core. Her efforts reduced time and effort in validating data and increased collaboration with Boise State Campus Admin departments.

Tree Hugger Award:

Patricia Moran & Tori Lewis, Athletics Administration

Patricia and Tori in the Athletics Department brought their department to the digital era by creating a secure share-drive for electronic files and allowing digital receipt collection for Expense Reports.

Splendid Self-Sufficiency Award:

Li Sperl, Dori Hulme, Alexis Rowland, Michelle Davis, Robert Sudquist, Danya Lusk, & Leslie Black, College of Health Sciences

By identifying keepers of complicated system knowledge, or Subject Matter Experts, the College of Health Science business office is standing on their own two feet when it comes to training.

Incremental Innovation Award:

Dave Niemeyer, Campus Facilities

In a spark of genius, Dave Niemeyer saved the University time and money by coming up with innovative ways to clean white boards and refinish tile floors using less expensive materials.

Leaps & Bounds Award:

Chelsea Avery, Administrative Accounting

When the Boise State University administrative offices were in need of a transaction reporting tools in the new Oracle Financials Cloud system, Chelsea stepped up to create a dashboard of easily accessible reports.

Cool Collaborators Award:

Lynn Harrsch, Ilene McEnroe, & Dalton Routh, Extended Studies

The Extended Studies group used teamwork and collaboration to create a strategic and streamlined way of using the newly implemented Chart of Accounts in Oracle Financial Cloud for their department.

Change Maker Award:

Megan DuPre, Educational Technology

When the Travel Authorization and Expense Report process needed defining and deployment in her department, Megan grappled these giant projects in to submission; ultimately reducing paper usage, empowering faculty, and reducing time gaps between travel planning and entry.

The Process Improvement Symposium will be held again next year and organizers from Systems and Process Improvement team hope to have nominations submitted that represent every department on the Boise State campus.

Watch the live stream of the Process Improvement Symposium from JoEllen DiNucci’s Facebook page.

Follow this link to the event Photo Gallery

This entry was posted in OCI Notes. Bookmark the permalink.